Republicans want guns in schools but not at their National Convention

gun rally

In response to an epidemic of gun violence in America, Republicans reject any effort to control gun use. The solution, instead, is more guns.

“The only thing that can stop a bad guy with a gun is a good guy with a gun,” the expression goes. It’s available as a t-shirt from the NRA.

nra t shirt

One idea that is subject to particular derision is the idea of “gun-free zones.” Instead of creating safe spaces, Republicans argue, gun-free zones just create attractive targets for criminals.

Here is Donald Trump deriding the idea at a rally earlier this month:

So it might come as some surprise that this year’s Republican National Convention in Cleveland will completely bans guns. The event will be held at the Quicken Loans Arena where “firearms and other weapons of any kind are strictly forbidden.” (Guns were banned at the 2012 Republican National Convention as well.)

At lot of people are trying to change that. More than 29,000 people have signed a petition demanding Republicans “allow open carry of firearms” during the convention.

Uphold your Constitutional Second Amendment right at the Republican National Convention

A petition at Change.Org is CALLING TODAY FOR THE FOLLOWING FIVE POINTS OF ACTION:

  1. Quicken Loans Arena in Cleveland: A suspension of their policy preventing the open carry of firearms on the premises of the arena from July 18-21, 2016 to coincide with the Republican National Convention.
  2. National Rifle Association: An immediate condemnation of the egregious affront to the Second Amendment of the United States Constitution constituted by the “gun-free zone” loophole to the state law.
  3. Ohio Governor John Kasich: A concerted effort to use his executive authority to override the “gun-free zone” loophole being exploited by the Quicken Loans Arena in Cleveland, Ohio.
  4. Reince Priebus and the Republican National Committee: An explanation of how a venue so unfriendly to Second Amendment rights was chosen for the Republican Convention. Further, we demand a contingency plan to relocate the convention to another location should the Quicken Loans Arena refuse to honor the constitutional rights of the RNC guests to open carry firearms during the convention.
  5. Republican candidates for President: You have been brave in raising awareness about the immense dangers posed by “gun-free zones.” In order to ensure the safety of your supporters, delegates and all attendees at the convention in July, you must call upon the RNC to rectify this affront to our Second Amendment freedoms and insist upon a suspension of the Quicken Loans Arena’s unconstitutional “gun-free zone” loophole. Every American is endowed with a God-given Constitutional right to carry a gun wherever and whenever they please.

 

Positions of the remaining Republican candidates for President:

trump and rifle

Donald Trump said “I will get rid of gun-free zones on schools—you have—and on military bases on my first day. It gets signed my first day…you know what a gun-free zone is to a sicko? That’s bait.” (Jan. 8. 2016)

ted cruz and gun

Ted Cruz has accurately pointed out “shooting after shooting after shooting happens in so called gun-free zones.” He continued, “look, if you’re a lunatic ain’t nothing better then having a bunch of targets you know that are going to be unarmed.” (Dec. 4, 2015)

John Kasich and guns

And Ohio Governor John Kasich has been a leader in this movement to eliminate deadly “gun-free zones” starting with his brave decision to fight the Democrats and end “gun-free zones” at National Guard facilities in Ohio. (Dec. 18, 2015)

Petition here:

https://www.change.org/p/quicken-loans-arena-allow-open-carry-of-firearms-at-the-quicken-loans-arena-during-the-rnc-convention-in-july-2?source_location=search_index&algorithm=promoted&grid_position=4

24 thoughts on “Republicans want guns in schools but not at their National Convention

  1. nice try the ban is a ban by the venue not the republicans. But hey i expect nothing less from a liberal with an agenda to mislead while pretending to be any sort of a reporter.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am a Republican and have no problems with guns being carried and the Convention.
    I would also like most the restrictions removed from my CCW that limit where I can carry.
    I can no longer carry my weapon while Attending HSU as I once did.
    I am also no longer allowed to carry a weapon in the high school classroom.
    where I teach.
    Worst of all, I am not allowed to carry my weapon near any elected official in Calif.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. From “Gun Free Zones” to “Free Fire Zones.” Is that really an improvement?

    Just lets be realistic here. A guy at the mall pulls out his or her gun. Lets say the place of chock full of Good Guys With Guns. What happens next? It hardly requires much flexing of the imagination to come up with the image.

    Guns don’t kill people, people kill people. That is certainly true. The problem is guns make it far easier for people to kill people. Even innocent bystanders.

    Fear kills people. And as a nation, we are becoming afraid of our own shadows. Adding more guns to the mix is not the solution.

    Liked by 2 people

    • What happens next is the bad guy dies, and won’t be robbing or possibly killing anyone in the future. Next question……..

      Liked by 1 person

    • For the record… There was a shoot out at the Capitol Visitor Center in Washington D.C. today. Despite police training a bystander was shot and wounded by police.

      I honestly did not think I would need to spell it out… A bunch of Good Guys With Guns blazing away at a Bad Guy With a Gun at a crowded In ‘N Out Burger stand is not likely to go the way of the NRA fantasy (as stated by others here).

      And before some overwrought brains get to smoking with Righteous Indignation; I’m not saying let the guy start shooting people and do nothing about it. I’m pointing out that the NRA’s favorite meme is not the answer to the problem… Just another potentially tragic consequence.

      By the way: Did you know that when the FBI gunned down John Dillinger outside of Chicago’s Biograph Movie Theater July 22nd 1934, two bystanders were also hit by FBI bullets?

      Wounded or killed bystanders were common in those sorts of police shoot outs. So common it was hardly worth a mention at the time.

      Just a little historical tidbit for those who believe I have a too active of an imagination.

      Liked by 2 people

  4. perhaps it would be better if they were all allowed to carry swords.

    It might get even better ratings.

    Like

  5. I don’t get what the problem is when they could all carry these
    http://www.guns.com/2016/03/10/little-gun-causes-big-flap-and-its-not-even-in-stores-yet/
    Not a concealed weapon as until they are taken out and unfolded, since they are NotYetGuns.
    This would part and parcel repub ‘logic’.

    This bullshit controversy is more smoke and mirrors deflection so the media won’t cover Birdie Sanders and keep the repub hoo hah in view at all times.

    Yesterday was the Cruz prostitutes nonsense, the day before the wifey-wifey standoff, the day before that Trump’s Big Hands..that was good for a couple days news cycle.

    Gee, think we are being played by the socalled ‘liberal media?’

    Like

  6. The only time in my life that I felt unsafe was when living in Eureka. I actually bought a 38 and kept it by my bed. I took safety classes and toyed with the idea of a carry permit. That was only because I went from my store to the bank with cash on a daily basis. Even then I decided against the permit. Too much risk of a wrong move on my part under the stress of a potentially dangerous shoot out. I would rather loose the money.
    I had mid-level drug dealer move in near my house with meth heads arriving day and night. They would get into fights on the street, created a rash of windshield breaking, threatened neighbors on a regular basis, and we, the neighbors, banded together and got the drug task force involved. It took six months but we got the dealer and his customers arrested. That is just one of many stories that took place within a three block radius over the twenty years I live there. I could have used my gun on a number of occasions, unlike two neighbors who did brandish their guns and got no end of grief from the EPD. Keep in mind this was in one of Eureka’s better neighborhoods. I retired a few years ago, sold house and business and left for a safer community and have been very glad I did so. I keep up with the local blogs and print media and note the community is still going in the wrong direction. I wish you all better times and better leaders.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I realize the Tuly is a left of left Blog, and it is their perceived job to smash Republicans I get it. I think it is only fair to point out that whether you like it or not, there are just as many Dems that support the second amendment as the rest of us.

    Like

    • eastwestrailroad:

      I think you have missed the point. The point is not about gun ownership, but rather where it is appropriate to carry one.

      Even the First Amendment is not absolute. Trying to apply common sense safety concepts to guns is not the same thing as tearing up the Constitution.

      Liked by 1 person

      • If you believe that the second amendment puts limits on carrying fire arms, then you are reading into it what you want it to say rather than what most Americans agree the writers believed.
        Limits on carrying, fall directly to local State and County laws.

        Like

      • eastwestrailroad:

        As I said before, even the First Amendment… the most fundamental of all the Amendments… Is Not Absolute.

        I don’t hear the NRA railing against libel laws inhibiting Free Speech, nor do they rail about laws against torturing animals at religious services inhibiting our Freedom of Worship.

        Compared to the First Amendment, the Second Amendment is nothing more than an after-thought. Yet people insist we consider a poorly written passage to be more sacrosanct than the very linchpin (the First Amendment) that holds this nation together.

        So, no I do not buy what you and the NRA are selling.

        I don’t want your guns. Keep ’em. I was raised in a household with guns and I am not intimidated by them. But I do recognize that the First Amendment does not provide license for me to do or say whatever I want… And you should recognize the Second Amendment does not grant you license to do whatever you want with your guns.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Right on Mola. The right to bear arms meant something far different than the way people are ‘interpreting’ it today. The country had just gotten out from under british rule and wanted a citizen militia armed and ready to repel any “outside” attempts to overthrow the new nation. Hence our National Guard. That was the intent of the second amendment. That is what Paul Revere’s ride was all about. The second amendment was not meant for a bunch of gun slingers running around with AKs, automatic pistils and armor piercing bullets.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Mola, please don’t read between the lines. Like I stated before, I realize you are left of left and as such predictable. I don’t need to “sell” you anything, you are static in your beliefs and probably not movable in your thinking. Please read my post with a mind not clouded with preconceptions.

    Like

    • eastwestrailroad:

      Hey eurekajim! We need the pot calling the kettle black icon you have. Code Red Stat!

      You’ve honestly heard my argument before? Because to the best of my knowledge, I’m the only person who makes that argument in that form. But I don’t get out much so who knows?

      On the other hand you pass out the NRA line with precision… The Second Amendment is clear in what it says and no one has the right to fiddle with a Constitutional Amendment (except of course, that the NRA line is patently not true on both counts).

      So who is the one with the tired old repetitious cant and who is the one offering an open argument for meaningful discussion?

      How about this… Since I already met your arguments point for point, how about you do me the courtesy of doing the same? Sound fair?

      To summarize (to make it easier for you): I don’t want your guns. I believe you have the right to have them AS LONG AS YOU BEHAVE YOURSELF WITH THEM. In this regard this is no different than any other Constitutional Right, including more important ones like Freedom of Speech.

      That is all I am arguing for… And for the most part all that most reasonable anti-gun people, including the President, are asking for.

      Liked by 1 person

      • “I believe you have the right to have them AS LONG AS YOU BEHAVE YOURSELF WITH THEM.”

        If I’m not mistaken, that is what the law is now. I guess that means we agree there should be no more restrictions.
        As for my first post, what I am saying is, this is not a dem repub issue. Most Americans believe in the right to bare (carry) arms.

        Like

  10. I signed the petition, because it’s our right to Constitutionally carry guns anywhere we want! And while at NRA and Republican political gatherings guns aren’t allowed due to some sort of altruistic public safety gobbledygook, the Secret Service putting public safety over our 2nd Amendment rights to legally carry a gun at the Republican Convention is going a little too far, don’t you think?

    Like

  11. Carry is different from bare. Carry has much more responsibility implied. You need to show why you need to carry.

    Like

    • In your semi police state world you may be right. In the real world I can legally carry a firearm with out showing anyone a reason.
      Are there restrictions where I can carry without good reason? Absolutely, as it should be.

      Like

  12. It is only at the county when you apply for a permit, they will ask what your purpose is. At least they did ask me and I said I carry cash between store and bank.. Never really crossed my mind that was police state tactic. I guess I’ll have to rethink the definition.

    Like

  13. Just happened to think, does Britian’s strict gun laws make it a semi police state?

    Like

Leave a Reply

