Humboldt Bay is about diversity!

Greg Dale for Harbor District

ELECTION SUMMARY

The primary difference between Harbor District incumbents vs. candidates has been reduced to the Vision of Humboldt Bay. But in fact, it is really about a preference of inclusive vs. exclusive.

The Incumbents and their supporters believe the future of Humboldt Bay is about diversity. They are building on the success of the oyster industry because aquaculture has generated a reliable income stream. The Incumbent’s vision includes the shipment of logs, lumber and pulp chips. In fact, the Incumbents vision includes building a multi-purpose dock at Berth 2 that will handle virtually any commodity. The Incumbents recognize and acknowledge the cyclical nature of the forest products industry and they know the economics of shipping grains & nuts from Humboldt Bay are not economically feasible.

The Harbor District Candidates believe the future of Humboldt Bay is overseas shipping of logs, lumber, pulp chips, grains & nuts. The overseas market for forest products is currently very weak and will always be cyclical. It has been months since logs were last shipped; decades since lumber last shipped; and the current market for pulp chips is weakened by a glut of pulp and paper products. In fact, The Newberg, Oregon pulp mill just announced an indefinite closure.

Humboldt Voters….this election can be summarized in two words.. Inclusive vs. Exclusive

If you support a public multi-purpose dock on Humboldt Bay that would allow every citizen or company an equal opportunity to ship products overseas then vote for the Incumbents.

If you support private docks for the exclusive who would continue to repeat the same mistakes and expect a different result then vote for the Candidates.

Bob Simpson – Conservative Forest Industry Entrepreneur

 

 

The Examiner recommends that you join the Environmental community and vote for:

Pat Higgins http://www.higginsforharbor.com/

Greg Dale http://votegregdale.com/

 

36 thoughts on “Humboldt Bay is about diversity!

  1. What a bunch of baloney.
    These guys knew about the potential toxic disaster for years and only turned themselves into the EPA after they got Simpson to give them the mess.
    Instead of having the owners foot the bill, they hung it on the taxpayers to the tune of 8.5 million bucks.
    They have been trying for years to turn it into an industrial park to compete with Arcata and Eureka.
    They got a grant to pre permit a bunch of leases (including the Dale family), but every thing went south when Ted Danson, the Audubon society, National fish and wildlife, and the State fish and wildlife, found out about it.
    I guess that’s diversity.
    During all the time they have been waiting for grants, they have been watching the Marina fall apart, neglected dredging of the marina and King Salmon. The redwood docks look like a bomb was dropped on it, and they watch as they sand is being sucked out of the gap in the North jetty.

    Like

  2. Hilarious Monte. Especially since I don’t drink. Do you have any idea about the value of the assets Freshwater gave the Harbor District?
    You have never responded to my question…is Debbie Provolt your wife? If so, that makes you Monte Provolt of the HumCPR Provolt family. At least be transparent with your politics

    Liked by 1 person

  3. oh yes, Monte and Debbie Provolt are suddenly so concerned about the health of Humboldt Bay! And do tell, what does maligning the Harbor District have to do with property rights exactly?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mckinleyvillan:

      Well, it’s complicated…

      You see, there are certain persons in this county who own tracts of land along the bay that they believe would make great container-ship processing facilities.

      Those properties aren’t doing much right now other than to be a place for the homeless to hang out; but… those folks believe they have the right to build those facilities (without financial risk to themselves).

      However, to exercise those rights (without loosing their shirts), they first need something to put into the containers and that something needs to come from elsewhere (because we don’t produce enough of something to get the job done).

      So, to fulfill their rightful property dreams they need someone to build for them a railroad to bring in the something. What something would that be? It changes every few months. Why should they care?

      Now, the present Harbor Commission is restricting those folks property rights by coming up with something else for the bay to do… like realistic stuff that will benefit everyone and are actually possible to accomplish and won’t bankrupt the region.

      The present Harbor Commission doesn’t want to build railroads and other big ticket heavy industry stuff for the folks with the property rights.

      Therefore the property rights folks want a different Harbor Commission than what we have now that will push and spend and build the railroad and the facilities (on someone else’s dime) so their property will be worth what they believe they have the right to expect it to be worth.

      Told you it was complicated.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I am very impressed with your imagination Mola.
        If you remove the pretzel like logic, and the attempt to mold it into what you chose to believe, then some of what you say is somewhat correct. ( That was supposed to be a compliment).
        From our previous discourse or intercourse, I am not sure which one works best, I realize that you can be very argumentative. So I will ask you some questions hoping to enlighten you as to my perspective.

        1. How many empty flat bed trucks enter Humboldt County each month?

        2. Compared to bees in Tehama County, how much money do oysters bring into Humboldt County?

        3. How much would a fully loaded ship coming and going bring into Humboldt’s economy per month?

        Like

      • Monte:

        1. Don’t know. You no doubt can tell me (and what that has to do with anything).

        2. Don’t know. Perhaps a better question to ask (for what reason I don’t know) would be how much bees in Tehama County will earn vs. our oysters in 10 years time. I hope all those bees and oysters are up to date on their W-2’s.

        3. Exactly? I don’t know… I guess it depends on the ship. And what it will bring in. And what that ship will take back out. Just what is preventing the ships to come and go, other than the lack of anything to bring and take? Certainly not the Harbor Commission… or an argumentative old cuss like myself.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Lets just take the first question. The answer is Hundreds.
    I estimate, conservatively 8000 to 16000 gallons of fuel per month to bring empty trucks back.
    Nick Angeloff is one of the few that are trying to solve this environmental disaster.

    Like

    • Monte, your estimate is off. Call Rich Graham of Schmidbauer Lumber at 707-443-7024. He will tell you how difficult it is to find backhauls for lumber.

      Liked by 3 people

  5. I don’t need to call any one to know how difficult it is to get a back haul to Humboldt. Many times over the years I have had any thing from Cat parts to metal buildings brought in for basically fuel costs.

    Like

  6. Monte: Let’s be fair about this. You stated there are hundreds of flat bed trucks traveling empty to Humboldt. At least admit that your number is an estimate and not a hard number. My point is this. You can’t build a sustainable economy based on a seat of the pants estimate.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. “The rumor was that Simpson was drunk for a week, after the commission bailed him out.” – “Monte”

    Bob – Thank you for your voice on this subject. We might not agree on a whole lot, but I hope you can begin to see what drives exploitative business interests. People with very narrow interests that would include income that has to come from these interests are driving so many of our policy decisions. The personal attacks you’ve suffered by anonymous Monte is one of the major ways they do this.

    Again, thanks for your voice of sanity on this issue and good luck tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Modifying facts to fit ones own belief.
      If anyone has “exploitative business interests” in this mess it’s your darling Mr. Simpson.
      Look into this, and past business dealings with open eyes, and you will see.
      You seem to have all the answers, but to the wrong questions.

      Like

      • Obviously Monte what we have here is business v business.

        As a smart growther Monte, I’m actually for a real accounting of both an e-w and n-s rail lines. I listened to Nick during his spiel to the Dems. I would have given him a second to call a vote if I was a voting member.

        But I wouldn’t have voted for him. There is too much that is being hidden from view, too much politicking in all the wrong ways (Bill Bertain’s taking down of a political sign so he could instead initiate a political lawsuit as one example.)

        It would be cool to answer Bob’s question. Are you Monte Provolt? If so, I’ve seen you and yours quite a bit during the railroaded (sorry!) GPU process.

        Me thinks you have some of the wrong answers yourselves.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Monte: Your attempt to smear my reputation defines your character. Your smear tactic is a mechanism you use to pivot away from a debate you can’t win. The fact is Monte…this blog isn’t about me and it isn’t about you. It is about the vision for Humboldt Bay. This blog is about the incumbents vision of Humboldt Bay vs. their opponents vision. The Voter Majority has spoke and they share the incumbents vision of a “Coastal Dependent, Eco-Industrial Economy”. That vision does not exclude overseas shipping as Angeloff & Rotwein suggested. The incumbents vision supports the continued growth of aquaculture. Consumer demand for oysters is strong, it meets the definition of eco-industrial and it pays the Harbor Districts monthly overhead. The Harbor District also supports the exportation of logs, lumber, pulp chips and pellets. At present, the overseas demand for these products is weak. Jack Crider and David Hull both intelligent men who know the inbound transportation, stevedoring and shipping costs of nuts and grains from Humboldt Bay is not competitive with the Ports of Sacramento, Stockton or Oakland. So this boils down to one issue. The incumbents do not support the East-West Railroad vision. The majority of voters cast their votes in favor of the incumbents vision.

        Liked by 3 people

  8. As we speak sand is being sucked out of the gaping whole in the north jetty, filling in the channel.
    There are fingers at the Marina that are unsafe.
    At low tide the Coast Guard Cutter only has 6″ of water beneath the hull, said the commander.
    Some how the District finds the money to pre-permit new oyster beds for Coast seafood and the Dale family.
    Yes, the same Dale that does not have a conflict of interest.

    Like

  9. Monte – can’t wait to see the results of Bill Bertain’s suit. Can you?

    Like

  10. Mr. Simpson, I apologize if you feel that your reputation was questioned. When my friends are attacked I tend to fight back. I will strive to do better in the future.
    As for me being against raising oysters, or the people who raise oysters in Humboldt Bay, this is a total fabrication on your part. Just because I don’t believe oyster farming should be the only business on the bay, doesn’t mean I am against them.
    As for the railroad, you guys must really be afraid of it. The railroad has seemed to be part of your mantra this whole election. I don’t recall hearing the challengers talk about the railroad even one time during the election.
    I believe this speaks volumes about your mind set.
    As for the lawsuit, you guys are laboring under the misguided impression that I have something to do with it. This cannot be further from the truth.
    Do I believe that Dale has a conflict?, yes, and have believed so for months.
    Am I interested to see if the FPPC will chose to investigate? Yes.
    Will I be disappointed if they find no conflict? Surprised would be a more accurate answer.

    Like

    • Monte: Please re-read my 5:08 AM Blog. I specifically stated the blog I started October 29th was not about you or me. It is about the differences in the Vision of Humboldt Bay by the incumbents vs. their opponents. I stated the incumbents believe in being inclusive and the opponents support the exclusive. Some dock owners would prefer not to compete with a publicly owned port facility. Those of us who don’t own a dock would prefer to have a publicly owned dock that provides all entrepreneurs the opportunity to export product. Additionally, the docks around Humboldt Bay are either very specialized (chip export), or inefficient due to their design. In other words, there are no multi-purpose, efficient docks on Humboldt Bay. With that said, take a look at the picture of the dock the Harbor District envisions building.

      I would have preferred to see an election season where the candidates focused on their vision and values rather than using smear attacks or deception.

      With regards to the east-west railroad, I attended one of the East-West RR meetings in 2010. The meeting was held in Bill Bertains office. I know the people involved and many of them have been friends for a long time. I was asked to attend the meeting because I managed the company, LP, who at one time was the largest shipper on the NCRR. I understand this issue better than most because I hired Union-Pacific RR engineers to review the RR economics for LP in 1993. The report stated the NCRR could never make a dollar and the tonnage of products in Humboldt County was inadequate to support a short line railroad. Since 1993, Humboldt County forest products tonnage has dropped by 50% and the economics of shipping grains or nuts from Humboldt Bay cannot compete with the Ports of Sacramento, Stockton or Oakland.

      For sake of clarity, I don’t oppose an east-west railroad. I oppose the economics of an east-west railroad. And I don’t dislike the people who do support the railroad. I just think their vision is delusional.

      Liked by 3 people

      • Again it seems to always come back to rail.
        You might admit that very knowledgeable people are on both sides of this issue.
        If I believed this election was about the railroad, I would be very nervous. Knowing that neither challenger even mentioned the rail, and Susan still basically tied Higgins.
        Another question one must ask ones self is why has Cal Trans decided to upgrade 299? One official , in a meeting I attended stated that within 2 years, trucks hauling 53 foot long trailers will be able to go from Redding to Humboldt Bay. (He didn’t say Eureka).
        I wonder if it has anything to do with the fact that there are 35 strategic ports on the east coast, and only 4 on the west coast. None from Portland to San Francisco.

        Like

  11. Monte: Eureka will not be served by a railroad in my lifetime. So I don’t give it any thought. I do agree with you, there are smart people on both sides of the RR argument. In my prior comment, I referred to the RR supporters as delusional not stupid!

    Let’s see if we can agree to this…there will be no tie between Susan and Pat. One of them will win. Right now that looks to be Pat Higgins.

    The improvements to 299 will not make the Port of Humboldt competitive with the Ports of Oakland, Stockton or Sacramento. Especially for nuts or grains.

    Monte, I understand transportation. From 1983 – 1992, my company, Tricon Forest Products, was the largest shipper of lumber by barge on the west coast. Tricon chartered 2 barges from Zidell and it contracted Shaver Towing to pull its barges from Portland to Southern California. Tricon was also the largest shipper of lumber via barge from Eureka to Southern California. Tricon owned 100 73′ center beam rail cars that I contracted to the Burlington Northern Railroad. Tricon shipped 30 million board feet of lumber every 60 days from Lin Terminal in British Columbia to East Coast Ports. From 1992-1996, on behalf of LP, I acquired the North Coast Chip Export facility and I personally sold 200,000 BDU’s of pulp chips per year to Marubeni, Itochu and Sumitomo. Lastly, the Samoa pulp mill shipped 200,000 tons of pulp per year to Japan and Korea. So I feel qualified to speak about logistics. And I am very confident in saying central valley Ag crops will not be diverted to Humboldt County Ports any time soon.

    Like

    • Bob, you stated, “Eureka will not be served by a railroad in my lifetime. So I don’t give it any thought.” If you cannot directly benefit from it you see no need for it. That’s where out mindsets differ. I do not expect to benefit directly from an improvement in the transportation to Humboldt Bay.
      My concern is for my kids and grand kids.

      You must have missed my point about the so called (tie) between Pat and Susan. The election is so close that neither can say they have a Mandate as you suggested.

      (The improvements to 299 will not make the Port of Humboldt competitive with the Ports of Oakland, Stockton or Sacramento.) You forgot Houston.

      Through out history, nearly everyone that strived for higher things were called delusional, I’ll wear it proudly.

      You would be surprised at the names the “anti people” call anyone that supports the rail. My favorite is the “Crazy Train”, I think I’ll steal that one.

      Like

      • Monte: Your first paragraph is incorrect. The difference between us is that I know the economics of operating a short-line railroad from Redding to Eureka are horrible. And you don’t seem to care about the economics. Who is going to invest in this railroad? Certainly not the Union-Pacific Railroad.

        Monte….Why do you think the Port of Houston is vulnerable to the Port of Humboldt? The Panama Canal expansion will be completed within the next 3 months. When this occurs, the east coast & gulf ports are expected to benefit by the expansion and they will likely take traffic away from west coast ports.

        I think it is best we agree to disagree on this matter.

        Liked by 2 people

  12. Which part of the paragraph one is incorrect?

    The part where I quoted you?
    The part stating we have different mindsets?
    Or
    The part about me doing this for my kids future?

    As for mentioning the port of Houston, the way it fits into this puzzle is best left alone at this time. After all your the expert here.

    I’m not sure it is best we agree to disagree on this matter, but it is obvious we do..

    Like

    • Monte: Your statement I referred to was “If you cannot directly benefit from it you see no need for it”. Your statement is incorrect. I would gladly support a railroad regardless of whether I personally benefitted from the investment if I thought the investment made economic sense. But the investment will not make $$$$ so it doesn’t make $cents.

      Monte….I don’t consider myself a logistics expert. But I do have hands on experience and I believe experience counts. I encourage you and Debbie Provolt to assert your energy and support behind the expansion of the Berth 2 dock and upland infrastructure. It will benefit your grandchildren.

      Like

      • How can you extrapolate that since I support an improvement to the transportation leading to our deep water port, that some how I am against berth two?

        Neither am I a logistics expert, but I have had logs hauled from Happy Camp, Yreka, and Orleans to the Eureka area. I have paid for small logs to be hauled to Anderson, in the valley. I know what it costs to haul a dry load of chips to Humboldt Bay.
        I also know that the cost was not astronomical, even though everyone of them dead headed one way.

        Like

  13. Monte:

    “As for mentioning the port of Houston, the way it fits into this puzzle is best left alone at this time. After all your the expert here.”

    Let me see if I got this straight. Rather than consider what Mr. Simpson has to say on the affect that the Panama Canal expansion will have on West Coast shipping, you are advocating we ignore those inconvenient possibilities and just continue merrily on our way building railroads and container ship facilities?

    Are you one of those folks who believe that ignoring an inconvenient probability will make it go away?

    I doubt your children will thank you for that approach. Not when they are stuck writing the checks for what would turn out to be massive white elephants.

    Monte, the problem throughout your debate with Mr. Simpson is that most of what you have said here has made just about equal sense to your above statement.

    I suggest you save your energy (and polish-up your arguments) for two years hence, where you will have the opportunity to try again to get a Harbor Commission to your liking.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. A trillion dollars is a million times a million dollars.
    Our government has created a debt, 20 times that.
    Our children and grandchildren will be saddled with this burden without their permission.
    All this with no appreciable advancement in our standard of living, and in some cases a drastic reduction in it.

    By spending a microscopic amount compared to this astronomical figure, I believe your grandkids as well as my grandkids will thank anyone that works for improving the transportation to Humboldt’s deep water port.

    You still believe this election was about the rail. Even though only you mentioned it. You need to get it thru your head, the Harbor Commission does not build railroads.

    Lastly, referring to this as a debate is funny, I see it as more of a food fight.
    As for not responding to some of your “questions”. I believe taunting is rude behavior, and I try not to reward rude behavior.
    If you ask me a direct question, I will give you a direct answer.

    Like

  15. I asked a direct question and received nothing. So let’s ask it again. Monte….Why do you think the Port of Houston is vulnerable to the Port of Humboldt?

    Like

  16. It isn’t…

    I though you knew this but, as the Ports in the bay area become more congested. it is becoming more difficult for the nut growers to access the ships they need to transport their goods.. In many cases the growers have to haul there nuts to Huston for overseas markets.

    The Maxi ships are actually going to make Humboldt attractive, since they create massive congestion, it will be more difficult for smaller shippers to get loads.

    We will never compete with Oakland, we will be their over flow valve..

    Like

    • Monte: I truly hope your prediction is right. My sources tell me all west coast Ports are not anywhere near capacity though. So its difficult to predict when the need for overflow will occur.

      Like

Leave a Reply

